This table links into the wedding legislation associated with states and tries to summarize several of their salient points. Those thinking about the wedding legislation of the jurisdiction that is particular review its legislation directly as opposed to depend on this summary which could never be completely accurate or complete.
Related materials that are LII:
|State||typical Law Marriage||chronilogical age of permission to marry||Medical exams||Marriage permit|
|Age with parental permission||Age without parental permission||Max. duration between exam and license||Scope of medical exam||Waiting period before license||Duration of permit legitimacy (expiration)|
|Alabama- Title 30, Chapter 1||Yes||16 a, b||18||–||–||–||1 month|
|Alaska- Title 25, Chapter 5||No||16 c||18||–||–||3 times, d||three months|
|Arizona- Chapter 1, Article 1||No||16 c (2)||18||–||–||–||1 Arkansas- Title 9, Subtitle 2, § 11||No year||18||–||–||f||–|
|California- Family Code, §§ 300-500||No||b, g||18||thirty days, d, h||–||–||3 months|
|Colorado- §§ 14-2-105 thru 14-2-110||Yes||16 c||18||–||–||–||thirty days|
|Connecticut- Title 46b, § 815e||No||16 c (2)||18||–||i||4 days, d||65 days|
|Delaware- Title 13, Chapter 1||No||18||–||–||twenty four hours, j||30 days|
|Florida- Title 43, Chapter 741||No||16 a, ag ag e||18||–||–||–||60 times|
|Georgia- §§ 19-3-1 thru 19-3-68||No gg||16 ag e, k||18||–||i||3 times, l||thirty days|
|Hawaii- § 572||No||15 k||18||–||–||—-||thirty days|
|Idaho- § 32-301 thru 32-501||No gg||16 c||18||–||m, n||–||–|
|Illinois- Chapter 750, CS 5, Part II||No||16 o||18||–||p||one day||60 times|
|Indiana- Title 31, Article 11||No gg||17 ag ag e||18||–||q||–||60 times|
|Iowa- Chapter 595||Yes||16 k||18||–||–||3 times||–|
|Kansas- Chapter 23, Article 1||Yes||16 c (2)||18||–||–||3 times, d||half a year|
|Kentucky- Chapter 402||No||18 k||18||–||–||–||thirty days|
|Louisiana- Title IV, Chapter 1 (Civil Code 86)||No||18 c||18||10 times||–||–||–|
|Maine- Title 19, Chapter 23||No||16 c||18||–||–||3 times, d, f||ninety days|
|Maryland- §§ 2-201 thru 2-503||No||16 e, r||18||–||–||48 hours, d||half a year|
|Massachusetts- Title III, Chapter 207||No||Male-14 k Female-12 k||18||3-60 days, s||–||3 times, f||60 times|
|Michigan- Chapter 551||No||16||18||–||–||3 times, d||33 days after application|
|Minnesota- Chapter 517||No||16 k||18||–||–||5 times, d||six months|
|Mississippi- Title 93, Chapter 1||No||g, k||thirty days||t||3 times, d||–|
|Missouri- Chapter 451||No||15 u||18||–||–||–||1 month|
|Montana- Title 40, Chapter 1||Yes||16 k||18||–||t||–||180 times|
|Nebraska- Chapter 42||No||17||19||–||i||–||12 months|
|Nevada- Title 11, Chapter 122||No||16 c||18||–||–||–||12 months|
|brand New Hampshire- Title 43, Chapter 457||No||Male- 14 v Female- 13 v||18||–||–||3 times, d, f||ninety days|
|New Jersey- Title 37||No||16 c, e||18||–||–||72 hours, d||30 times|
|brand brand brand New Mexico- Chapter 40, Article 1||No||16 e, u||18||30 times||t||–||–|
|New York- Domestic Relations (Chapter 14), Articles 1 and 2||No||16 v||18||–||w||24 hours||60 times|
|new york- Chapter 51||No||16 ag e||18||–||–||–||–|
|North Dakota- Chapter 14-03||No||16||18||–||–||–||60 times|
|Ohio- Title 31, Chapter 3101||No gg||Male-18 k Female-16 c, ag e||18||–||–||5 days, d, x||60 times|
|Oklahoma- 43-3||No gg||16 c, e||18||1 month, d||t||y||30 times|
|Oregon- Title 11-106||No||17 z||18||–||–||3 times, d||60 days|
|Pennsylvania- Title 23, Part 1||No gg||16 u||18||1 month||t||3 times, d||60 days|
|Rhode Island- Title 15, Chapters 15-1 thru 15-3||Yes||18||–||aa||–||three months|
|sc- Title 20, Chapter 1||Yes||16 e||18||–||–||one day||–|
|Southern Dakota- Title 25, Chapters 1 and 2||No||16 ag e||18||–||–||–||20 times|
|Tennessee- Title 36, Chapter 3||No||16 u||18||–||–||3 times, d, bb||30 days|
|Texas- Title 1, Subtitles the and B||Yes||16 k, v||18||–||–||cc||thirty days|
|Utah- Title 30, Chapter 1||Yes||16 a||18 dd||–||–||–||thirty days|
|Vermont- Title 15, Chapter 1||No||16 k||18||thirty day period, d||t||one day, d||–|
|Virginia- Title 20, Chapter 2||No||16 a, e||18||–||ee||–||60 times|
|Washington- Title 26, Chapter 4||No||17 u||18||–||ff||3 times||60 times|
|western Virginia- Chapter 48, Article 1||No||18 ag e||18||–||t||3 times, d||–|
|Wisconsin- Chapter 765 thru 767||No||16||18||–||n||5 times, d||30 days|
|Wyoming- Title 20, Chapter 1||No||16 u||18||–||i||–||–|
|District of Columbia- Division VIII, Title 46, Subtitle 1, Chapter 4||Yes||16 a||18||thirty days||t||3 days, d||–|
|Puerto Rico||No||Male-18 c, e, u Female-16 c, ag e, u||Male- 21 Female- 21 ag e||–||t||–||–|
suggests that the writers with this dining table were not able to discover any details about the subject
- (a) bestbrides.org/asian-brides/ Parental permission maybe maybe maybe not needed if small once was hitched.
- (b) Other requirements that are statutory.
- (c) more youthful parties may marry with parental permission.
- (c) (2) Younger parties may marry with parental and consent that is judicial.
- (d) Waiting period might be prevented
- ( ag ag e) Younger parties may get permit in case there is maternity or delivery of son or daughter.
- (f) Parties must file notice of intention to marry with neighborhood clerk.
- (g) No age limitations
- (h) whenever unmarried guy and unmarried girl, maybe maybe perhaps not minors, have already been residing together as man and wife, they might, without wellness certification, be hitched upon issuance of appropriate authorization.
- (i) Venereal illness and rubella (for feminine)
- (j) Residents, before termination of 24 hour waiting duration; non-residents, before termination of 96 hour waiting duration.
- (k) Parental consent and/or permission of judge needed.
- (l) Unless events are 18 many years of age or even more, or feminine is expecting, or candidates would be the moms and dads of a residing child created out of wedlock.
- (m) Rubella for female; there are particular exceptions, and region judge may waive examination that is medical proof that crisis exists.
- (letter) candidates must get info on AIDS and certify having see clearly.
- (o) Judicial consent can be offered whenever parents will not consent.
- (p) Venereal conditions; test for sickle mobile anemia offered at request of examining doctor.
- (q) Any unsterilized feminine under 50 must submit with application for permit a medical report saying whether she had immunological a reaction to rubella, or perhaps a written record that the rubella vaccine was administered on or after her very very first birthday celebration. Judge may by order dispense with your demands.
- (r) If events have reached minimum 16 years, proof age and permission of events in individual are expected. In case a parent is ill an affidavit by the parent that is incapacitated a doctor’s affidavit needed.
- (s) Doctor’s certification should be filed thirty days prior to see of intention.
- (t) Venereal conditions. In WV and OK, Circuit court judge might waive requirement
- (u) Younger parties may obtain permit in unique circumstances.
- (v) Below chronilogical age of permission parties require parental permission and authorization of judge, no more youthful than 14 for men and 13 for females.
- (w) Tests for sickle cellular could be needed.
- (x) candidates under age 18 must declare that they usually have had wedding guidance.
- (y) If one or both events are underneath the age for wedding without parental permission, three time waiting duration.
- (z) If a celebration does not have any parent living within state, and something celebration has residence in state for half a year, no permission needed.
- (aa) real assessment and bloodstream test needed; offer of HIV counseling required.
- (bb) Unless events are over 18 years old.
- (cc) 72 hour period that is waiting issuance of license.
- (dd) Authorizes counties to offer for premarital guidance as a prerequisite to issuance of permit to individuals under 18 and people formerly divorced.
- (ee) needed offer of HIV test, and/or must certanly be provided with informative data on AIDS and tests available.
- (ff) No exam needed, but events must register affidavit of non-affiliction with contagious disease that is venereal.
- (gg) No common-law wedding may be entered into, but these states recognize typical legislation marriages which were entered into before these times:
- Georgia- joined into ahead of January 1, 1997 are recognized,
- Idaho- joined into ahead of January 1, 1997 are recognized,
- Indiana- joined into ahead of January 1, 1958 are recognized,
- Ohio- entered into ahead of 10, 1991 are recognized october,
- Oklahoma – entered into ahead of November 1, 1998 are recognized, present situation unclear,
- Pennsylvania- entered into ahead of September 17, 2003 (see PNC Bank Corp. v. W.C.A. B., 831 A.2d 1269 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2003) or perhaps January 1, 2005 (see 2004 home Bill No. 2719) are recognized.
- (hh) minimal age for common-law wedding determined to be 12; legislature instituted minimum chronilogical age of 18 for marriages started on or after September 1, 2006
Supply: located in component on a chart into the World Almanac and Book of Facts, World Almanac Books, 1999. Entries were updated through overview of the statutes and links included to allow consultation that is direct of state statutes.